Marian P. Merritt - Lagniappe

Where the Bayous Meet the Mountains

Monday, October 01, 2007

ACFW Conference

Recently, I attended the American Christian Fiction Writers conference in Dallas, TX.
Spending three days with over 400 writers was both exhausting and exhilarating!

I managed to attend a few workshops and picked up a great new writing tips and techniques. But the fellowship with writer friends was priceless.

Saturday evening's award banquet was as exciting as promised. I enjoyed watching my friend and critique partner receive the Mentor of the Year award and another critique partner win 1st place in the Contemporary Category of the Genesis Contest!

Congratulations Linda Kozar – Mentor of the Year (on the Right)

Congratulations Jennifer Griffith (on left)–First Place Contemporary Fiction for Gumbo Ya Ya.

Here's a complete list of winners:

Contemporary Romance (includes romantic comedy)

3rd place: Jennifer Hudson Taylor, By His Plan

2nd place: Jennifer Lynn Cary, On The Court

1st place: Audra Harders, Rough Ride

Historical Romance

3rd place: Audra Harders, Precious Possessions

2nd place: Jennifer Hudson Taylor, Promised Blessings

1st place: Pam Hillman, Stealing Jake's Heart

Romantic Suspense

3rd place: Suzan Robertson, The Circle Game

2nd place: Dineen Miller, Manna Reign

1st place: Marci J. Burke, Shadow of Doubt


3rd place: Rebecca Grabill, Out of Darkness

2nd place: Chris Mikesell, Revival

1st place: Sally A. Apokedak, The Kisses of an Enemy

Historical Fiction

3rd place: Marcia Gruver, Love Never Fails AND Yvonne Anderson, Mom's Mirror

2nd place: Tina Helmuth, Hidden Snares

1st place: Carla Stewart, A Dandelion Day

Young Adult

3rd place: Sally Apokedak, Prisoners of the Throne

2nd place: Linda Fulkerson, The Rod of Schmazel

1st place: Rachael Phillips, Song of the Orphan Train

Contemporary Fiction

3rd place: Myra Johnson, Pearl of Great Price

2nd place: Angie Poole, Gravehopping With Myrna

1st place: Jennifer Griffith, Gumbo Ya Ya

Women's Fiction

3rd place: Kathleen Sprout, The Choice

2nd place: Ane Mulligan, When the Wind Blows

1st place: Kristine Pratt, Identity Theft


3rd place: Janet Rubin, Beneath the Steeple

2nd place: Gina Holmes, Deception Burning

1st place: Jane Robertson, Curst Be the Tie

Chick/Mom/Hen/Lady Lit

3rd place: Jenness Walker and Tracy Bowen, Bliss

2nd place: Georgiana Daniels, Honey Do Inc.

1st place: Carrie Padgett, Oh Shop It

Congratulations to all the Winners!!!

A special note to those that entered and did not win: You are winners also. It takes courage to send your words for someone else to judge. I hope you've reviewed the critiques and found amazing ways to improve your work.

Keep pressing for improvement. God calls us to give Him our best. From there He takes care of the rest...


Anonymous said...

Thanks for the holler and hello. May the Lord bless you with an abundance of creativity and wisdom to get those proposals done and manuscripts finished. Woo woo woo! You're in a beautiful, quiet place to write. Just let it flow...

Marian Merritt said...


Thanks for the prayer!! I pray the same for you!